Monday, June 27, 2016

Pine Tree ISD Names Jody Berryhill Interim Athletic Director

Pine Tree ISD has named Coach Jody Berryhill as the Interim Athletic Director. Coach Berryhill has 29 years experience in his field with 25 years at PT.  The district has posted the position on the Pine Tree ISD website.  

Thursday, June 23, 2016

Pine Tree AD David Collins Accepts Position at J.J. Pearce

Pine Tree  Athletic Director and Head Coach David Collins is leaving Pine Tree ISD to become the Athletic Coordinator and Head Coach for J. J. Peace High School in Richardson.

The Board of Trustees will address this vacancy at the next board meeting on June 27.   

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

PTISD hosts Fishing Club informational meeting June 22

Pine Tree ISD will be starting a competitive fishing club this summer for PT junior high and high school students.  An informational meeting will be June 22 at 6:30 p.m. at Pine Tree Junior High.  

Come check it out today!  For additional informational about the competitive fishing club, contact Clay Nyvall at 936-615-2084. 


Monday, June 6, 2016

Pine Tree Teacher Selected Recipient of Patterson Nissan Teacher Appreciation Award

Crystal Massey, Elementary Teacher at Pine Tree ISD, was selected for the 2016 Teacher Appreciation Award presented by Patterson Nissan.  Massey was surprised at this year's graduation as General Manager Ray Cox made the announcement.  Massey won a 2016 Sentra.  She was nominated by her students, parents and colleagues for this prestigious award.

Congratulations, Mrs. Massey!  Very much deserved!

PTISD  Teacher Crystal Massey and PT Elementary
Principal Melanie Bridges 

Friday, June 3, 2016


Due to the possibility of inclement weather, tonight’s Pine Tree High School graduation ceremony will be held in the Pirate Center at Pine Tree High School.

Based on the capacity of the Pirate Center as determined by the local fire marshal, ALL GUESTS MUST HAVE A TICKET TO ENTER. This applies to small children and infants as well.

Live streaming of the event will be available on large screens in both the Pine Tree High School Theater and the Pine Tree High School cafeteria for guests who do NOT have a ticket.

Event Details:
  • Pine Tree High School class of 2016 Graduation
  • Pirate Center - 1005 West Fairmont
  • Ceremony begins at 8:00 PM
  • Doors open at 6:30 PM
  • All guests MUST have a ticket to enter

For guests who DO NOT have a ticket:
  • Live streaming of graduation will be available at both the Pine Tree High School Theater and the Pine Tree High School cafeteria.


  • Parking will be available at Pine Tree High School and Pine Tree Jr. High School.  PTISD will operate a shuttle bus from the Jr. High parking areas to the Pirate Center, and back.
  • Off-site parking will be available at the Central Office parking lot off of Pine Tree Road (home side of old Pirate Stadium). PTISD Transportation will operate multiple buses to shuttle guests from the off-site parking area to the Pirate Center. After the ceremony, buses will shuttle guests back to the off-site parking area and will continue to run for one hour.


UIL held its Texas State Solo & Ensemble Contest May 27-20 in Austin.  Each solo judge may designate exemplary soloists as Outstanding Performers.  The Outstanding Performer Award represents the attainment by an individual of superior musicianship as demonstrated in the exacting competition of the Texas State Solo & Ensemble Contest.  

Pine Tree senior clarinet player Jerry Zhang was named one of the Outstanding Soloists for the 2015-2016 year for his performance of Rossini's "Introduction, Theme, and Variations".  Jerry is a two time All State Band member.  He will be in the UIL archives, "Listing of Champions".  Jerry is in the top ten graduates of the class of 2016.

"Jerry Zhang is one of those incredible and hard-working students that every band director dreams of having.  His talent, combined with hard work, has paid off not only by earning all-state honors for two years, but this year, he was named outstanding soloist at the Texas State Solo and Ensemble contest.  He is planning to keep performing at the University of Texas where he will major in computer engineering", said Mark Melton, Director of Fine Arts at Pine Tree High School.

"Jerry Zhang is an unbelievably talented young man who is the epitome of drive and determination.  He takes nothing for granted and always acts as if he had done nothing special.  I am extremely proud to know Jerry Zhang", said Cindy Gabehart, Pine Tree High School Principal.

Jerry Zhang 

Thursday, June 2, 2016

PT Band and Choir Students Show Well at State UIL Solo and Ensemble Contest

The Pine Tree High School Band and Choir students competed at the State UIL Solo and Ensemble Competition May 30 at the University of Texas at Austin.  Band students brought home a total of 24 medals and choir students came home with a total of 8 medals.

The following band students earned Gold Medals:

Jerry Zhang  - 2 medals
Khali Grant
Gage Ellis - 2 medals
Izrell Adams
Jordan Lampin
Patrick Bigham
Axel Mondragon
Cristian Najera - 2 medals
Bobby Counts
Kalie Rhodes - 2 medals
Kris Balint
Rebekah Ayres
Audrey Soltau
Korbin Davis
Molly Dixon
Lisette Cerda

The following band students earned Silver Medals:

Caroline Jones
Stephanie Williamson
Anna Callender
Tyler Russell

The following choir students earned a 1 Superior Rating:

Katie White
Robby Childers
Clayton Jaimes

Earning a 2 Excellent Rating:

Lili Martinez
Daniel Hernandez
Ally Baxter
Thomas Bradshaw
Kietraille Sutton

Congratulations to each of these PT students!

Pine Tree Intermediate Takes 1st and 2nd at Region 7 Robotics Competition

The Pine Tree Intermediate Robotics Team, consisting of 10 teams, participated in the Region 7 Robotics Competition  - The Undeniably Unfettered Unusual Undertakings of the Remarkable Nebraska Belle Meriwether-Clark.

1st place team - Harper Jones and Alexandra Sanchez
2nd place team - Anthony Velazques and Dealyn Evans

Other team members are:  Katherine Castillo, Madalyn Scaggs, Daysha Torres, Chloe Tesser, Leslie Ortega, Jessica Collins, Erik Guzman, Brayden Haesecke, William Alexander, Preston Armstrong, Uriel Reyes, Jose Aranda, Colton Smith, Angel Padron, John Patrick Tomberlain, and Zachary Kimbley.

Congratulations Robotics Team!