Thursday, February 11, 2016


Pine Tree High School Band students participated in the UIL Region IV South Zone Solo & Ensemble Competition Friday, Feb. 5, 2016.  A total of 134 medals were awarded to Pine Tree students with 107 of those being 1st Division medals.  

Nineteen solos and twelve ensembles advanced to the State UIL Solo & Ensemble Contest which will be held May 28, 2016 at the University of Texas at Austin.  In order for a soloist to advance to the State level, the student had to play a Class 1 solo, from memory, and earn a 1st division.  This is a huge testimony to these students work ethic and determination.  *These students are indicated in the list below.

Congratulations to all of the 1st Division medalists: Izrell Adams*, Alyssa Alexander, Andrew Allison, Rebekah Ayres*, Jayden Balfour, Kris Balint, Erica Bernard, Harrison Berryhill*, Ally Bethard, Patrick Bigham, Anna Callender, Mya Candie, Luis Cardenas, Lisette Cerda, Vashayla Charvis, Jack Cheng*, Tom Childers*, Nigel Colbert, Hailey Couch, Bobby Counts, Korbin Davis, Molly Dixon, Gage Ellis*, Ja'lon Floyd, Nash Garcia, Elizabeth Garcia, Khali Grant*, Amanda Green, Maddie Hardin, Ashley Harkey, Kaitlyn Harris*, Kelsey Jacobs*, Andrea Jenkins*, Logan Jennings, Caleb Jordan, Josue Jovel, Riley Kennedy, Allison Knight, Jordan Lampin*, Kellen Maples, Erick Marroquin, Sam Meadows*, Jazmin Merriman, Sebastian Miller, Axel Mondragon*, Kayla Monk, Davis Morton, Darian Murphy, Rafael Najera, Cristian Najera*, Shawn Naseiro*, Alex Palacios*, Maja Palmer, Lauren Parker, Aaron Pierce, Elisabeth Pinkston, Nakala Pinkston, Stephanie Ramirez, Joel Ramirez, Jayden Randall, Kalie Rhodes, Jared Richmond*, Christian Robinson, Saray Ruiz, Tyler Russell*, Chris Schaetz, Mackinza Scott, Audrey Soltau, Megan Suits, Colton Vandiver, Mikayla Wallin, Jerry Zhang*.

UIL Region IV Music Secretary, Don Lawler, would like to thank Pine Tree ISD for once again hosting this event at Pine Tree High School.  This takes enormous effort and cooperation among the district, the school administration, the teachers and staff, and the students.  Thank you for doing such a great job!

No comments: