Friday, August 23, 2013

Back to School Convocation for PT Employees

Photo by Kevin Green, LNJ
Get On Board with Pine Tree ISD: Annual Convocation for Employees

Every August before the start of the school year, PTISD Superintendent TJ Farler addresses district team members to review the district's goals and priorities.

On Wednesday, August 21st, over 650 employees gathered to hear from the district leadership and review the successes of the previous year.

Board President Charlie Peck told hundreds of educators gathered for the district’s annual convocation that trustees are committed to joining forces with the greater Longview community to establish coalitions of support on behalf of students.   He announced intentions to go above and beyond in helping meet not only students’ educational needs but their physical needs as well.  “For example, we plan to host a joint meeting with Longview ISD to address the problem of poverty,” Peck said.

Superintendent Dr. T. J. Farler presented videos from the past school year showing students engaged in learning, community service, and interacting with technology in the classroom.

“We need to be in charge of change, if we aren’t someone else is going to take charge and do it for us,” she said. “We must direct the change for our students.”

Changes in the district include a full-time music teacher a the primary school, and elementary and middle school students able to take both art and music, instead of choosing one, Farler said, and new security entrances are also in place at each campus and the opening of the new stadium.

Friday, August 16, 2013

PTISD Board Summary from the Regular August 12, 2013 Meeting

Board Summary from the Regular August 12, 2013 Meeting

The Pine Tree Independent School District Board of Trustees met in Regular session at 5:45 p.m. on August 12, 2013 in the Pine Tree ISD Administration Building Boardroom located at 1701 Pine Tree Rd, Longview, Texas.

President Charley Peck called the meeting to order. Members present included Charley Peck, president; Terre Dunn, vice-president; Pat Noon, secretary; Will Adamson, Craig Meek, MD, Kerri Daugbjerg, Cynthia Hellen, and Dr. TJ Farler, Superintendent. Craig Meek, MD gave the invocation

Other administrators present were James Skeeler, Tony Hollins, Judy Downing, Dr. Daya Hill, Becky Balboa, Melinda Tidwell, Dr. Carla McAvoy, Cindy Gabehart, Vanessa Robinson, Vickie Echols, Cathy Schmidt, Jon Pollard, Michelle Mitchell, Debbie Terry, Scott Mann, and Amanda Pitre.

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Pine Tree ISD and Longview Regional Medical Center Announce New Partnership

Charley Peck, Pine Tree ISD President of Board, Tim Vaughn,
Longview Regional Medical Center President of the Board, Jim Kendrick,
Longview Regional Medical Center CEO,
Dr. TJ Farler, Pine Tree ISD Superintendent

Pine Tree Independent School District is pleased to announce a multi-year sponsorship agreement with Longview Regional Medical Center (LRMC) for exclusive scoreboard rights at the new Pine Tree Athletic Complex, opening August 23rd.

“Speaking on behalf of the Pine Tree ISD Board of Trustees, we are very excited to partner with Longview Regional Medical Center,” said Board of Trustee President, Charley Peck. “It is no secret that obtaining funding for our school district is becoming more challenging, but with the help of partners such as LRMC, we are paving the way for innovative and collaborative options to move Pine Tree forward.”

“Longview Regional and the Diagnostic Clinic of Longview are proud to support and serve as the exclusive Pine Tree Stadium scoreboard sponsors. Together, this opportunity allows the hospital and the clinic to showcase our loyalty to providing excellent healthcare, right here in Longview for our youth and our community,” said Jim Kendrick, Longview Regional Medical Center CEO.

Thursday, August 8, 2013

Longview Chamber of Commerce announces leadership Longview class

Longview Chamber of Commerce announces leadership Longview class
From the Longview Chamber of Commerce:
The Longview Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the new members of the Leadership Longview Class of 2013-2014.

Martell Armstrong, City of Longview; Dwayne Bennett, Community Healthcore; Allyson Bock, BancorpSouth; Suzanne Brown, US Steel Tubular Products; Amy Canton, The Arc of Gregg County; Jon Cromer, Texas Bank and Trust; Roy Finch, Longview Regional Medical Center; Quory Flowers, Maly & Associates; Ashley Haub, Eastman Chemical Company; Allen Hold, Good Shepherd Medical Center; Sean Jamerson, Westlake Chemical; John Jaskiewicz, Good Shepherd Medical Center; Kate Langston, Hiway 80 Rescue Mission; Scott Lewis, Longview Transit Management, Inc.;  

Brian Livingston, Hiway 80 Rescue Mission; Jackie Moseley, Citizens National Bank; Tequita Mumphrey, Longview Transit Management, Inc.; Tammy Oberthier, Good Shepherd Medical Center; 

Amanda Pitre, Pine Tree ISD; Kayla Richardson, Healthcare Express; Laura Rodgers, Spring Hill State Bank; Mark Shrewsbury, The Made-Rite Company; Shun Taylor, Baxter Clean Care; Taylor Whyte, First Bank & Trust East Texas; Daniel Wiebracht, Tom James Company.
Leadership Longview began in 1981 and graduated first class in 1982. Over 700 community leaders have completed the program. The vision of Leadership Longview is to serve as the catalyst for progressive and effective leadership in the Longview community.
The new class will kick off their year on September 13/14 with an overnight and team building retreat.  For additional information about the Leadership Longview program, contact Mary Whitton at the Longview Chamber of Commerce at 903.237.4000 or