Thursday, October 20, 2016

Pine Tree Senior Shaffer Russell Named Wendy's High School Heisman School Winner

Longview, TX  (October 20, 2016) – There are some students who set the bar. They work harder, show more passion and lead by example—in the classroom, on the field and within the community. Today, Wendy’s High School Heisman recognizes Shaffer Russell from Pine Tree High School and his dedication to never cutting corners by naming him a School Winner.

“Shaffer is known by his teachers and friends for his commitment to excellence. We are excited and honored that a program like Wendy’s High School Heisman is also recognizing his hard work,” said Cindy Gabehart, Pine Tree High School Principal. 

Shaffer Russell

Since 1994, Wendy’s and the Heisman Trophy Trust have been running the same play to perfection: honoring more than 600,000 of the nation’s most esteemed students. This year, Wendy’s will celebrate the accomplishments of thousands of the best high school seniors, awarding winners in five phases.

Both School Winners and State Finalists have been announced today. School Winners will receive a School Winner certificate and a Wendy’s High School Heisman Patch. State Finalists will receive a bronze medal, a Wendy’s High School Heisman State Finalist patch and a $25 gift card. From the group of State Finalists, one senior male and female will be selected from each state and announced as State Winners on October 20.
For more information or to track a student’s progress through the competition, please visit

About Wendy's High School Heisman
The Wendy's High School Heisman was created by Wendy's founder Dave Thomas in 1994.  Dave Thomas dropped out of high school when he was 15 years old in order to work full-time and went on to become one of the most successful entrepreneurs in history.  While this nontraditional path led to his prosperity, it always worried Dave that others would follow in his footsteps and expect to achieve similar fame and wealth by not finishing high school or attending college.
Faced with this dilemma, at 61 years old, Dave enrolled at Coconut Creek High School in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., and received his General Equivalency Diploma (GED). Inspired by this moment and with a desire to celebrate the outstanding achievements of youth in America, he launched the Wendy's High School Heisman program.
Twenty-two years later, Wendy's High School Heisman has honored more than 600,000 of the nation's most esteemed high school seniors who share Wendy's values of giving back to their communities, treating people with respect, continuing education and excelling on the athletic field.
The Wendy's High School Heisman is a joint program between Wendy's and the Heisman Trophy Trust, host and custodians of the Heisman Memorial Trophy®

About Wendy's
The Wendy's Company (NASDAQ: WEN) is the world's third largest quick-service hamburger restaurant chain. The Wendy's system includes more than 6,500 restaurants in 29 countries and U.S. territories. For more information, visit

The Wendy's name and design and the Wendy's High School Heisman and design are trademarks of Quality Is Our Recipe, LLC.  The Heisman Memorial Trophy, Heisman name and Heisman Trophy figure are registered trademarks of the Heisman Trophy Trust, used with permission.

Frank Vamos                                                      Steven Coulombe                          
614-764-8477                                                    404-879-9292


The Pine Tree High School Theatre Department will present Willy Wonka October 27, 29 and 30 in the Pine Tree High School Theatre.  Performance times on October 27 & 29 is 7:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. on October 29 and 30.
Tickets are $8 for general admission and $5 for Students and Faculty (with ID).

Tickets can be purchased at the door, by phone, or online at the Pine Tree Theatre webpage

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Pine Tree High School Band Receives Three "1" Ratings at UIL Competition

The Pine Tree High School  Band performed at the UIL Region IV Marching Contest Tuesday, October 18 at Mt. Pleasant High School.  

The band received 3- straight "1" ratings for its performance.  In addition, it was the only 5A band at the contest to have earned 3 superior ratings.  The blended military show that also had corps elements was a big hit for this season.  

Congratulations to Mark Melton and "The Pride!"


Let's go Pirates - Text 1Pirates to 43101 each day. One text per day!  Keep those texts coming!

There will be 2 Grand Prize Schools each winning $10,000 and 2 Runner-up Schools each winning $5,000.   Let's go Pirates and bring home the Grand Prize!

Last day of competition is November 1 - Pirates let's stay strong and text each day!

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Pine Tree Fishing Club Makes Great Showing at Rayburn Tournament

The Pine Tree Fishing Club made a great showing at the Lake Sam Rayburn tournament on October 15.  Out of 114 teams that competed less than half were able to weigh in.

Pine Tree anglers Treston Braley and Noah Quintanilla placed fourth with Merrick Taylor and Connor Mayeaux weighed in at 23rd place.  Alex Aguilar captured 25th place and Christian Arevalo and Auturo Perez bringing home 59th place.

Overall PT teams  moved up the leader board for the year!  Congratulations to our PT Pirates!


The Pine Tree High School Band will be competing in UIL Marching Contest today in Mt. Pleasant. The Pride is scheduled to compete at 3:15 p.m.

Live streaming is available at



Pine Tree ISD will host a drug awareness and prevention parent and community meeting Tuesday, October 18 at 5:30 p.m. on the Community Center.

This community wide seminar will discuss drug awareness and prevention as well as a discussion of current drugs presented by the district's School Resource Officers.

PT Parents and the community are invited to attend.

Monday, October 17, 2016


Pine Tree High School choir students showed well at the All Region Competition on October 15.

The following students advanced and will perform in concert on Saturday, November 12.

Soprano 1:
Emilee Fowler, 2nd chair**
Savannah Harrold, 7th chair**
Jasmine Martinez, 8th chair

Soprano 2:
Taylor McDaniel, 7th chair**
Tianna Bond, 11th chair

Alto 1:
Chloe Crouch, 6th chair**
Laura Ford, 9th chair

Alto 2:
Lili Martinez, 2nd chair**
Sarai Saldana, 6th chair**
Bryanna Hosmer, 8th chair**

Tenor 1:
Kemaro Collins, 5th chair**
Nathan Bowen, 6th chair**

Tenor 2:
Kietraille Sutton, 2nd chair**
Tyrese Smith, 3rd chair**

Bass 1:
Thomas Bradshaw, 5th chair**

Bass 2:
Robby Childers, 1st chair**
Daniel Hernandez, 6th chair**

** Students who will continue in the All-State choir process and audition at pre area in November

The competition consists of schools throughout the region.  The top 12 women and the top men will advance.

Congratulations, PTHS Students!

Chick-fil-A Hosts Pine Tree Education Foundation Spirit Night October 25

Come support the Pine Tree Education Foundation at Chick-fil-a Spirit Night Tuesday, October 25 from 4-10 p.m. at the Gilmer Road Chick-fil-a. 

Ten percent of all sales from 4-10 p.m. will be donated to PTEF which helps fund teacher grants & dual-credit scholarships at PTISD.  

Wear your blue and gold and come support the Pine Tree Education Foundation!


Pine Tree ISD will host a drug awareness and prevention parent and community meeting Tuesday, October 18 at 5:30 p.m. on the Community Center.

This community wide seminar will discuss drug awareness and prevention as well as a discussion of current drugs presented by the district's School Resource Officers.

PT Parents and the community are invited to attend.